St. Aidan’s Cathedral Pastoral Council

Published on December 9, 2020
The concept of Pastoral Councils stemmed from Vatican II in 1965 and, since then the Church has repeatedly recommended the development of pastoral councils as a means of encouraging the shared responsibility of all the baptized in the life and mission of the church. When Pope John Paul II spoke to over 100 bishops in Asia, in New Delhi, he proposed that they ‘foster greater involvement of the laity and consecrated men and women in pastoral planning and decision making through such structures as pastoral councils and parish assemblies.’
Members of The Parish Pastoral Council


Members of the Parish Pastoral Council are: Fr. Odhrán Furlong, Fr Billy Swan, Dervla Tierney (Chairperson), Lily Leacy, Joan Mitchell, Patricia McNally,Bridie Morrissey, Marie O’Tiarnaigh,Colm O’Tiarnaigh, Fiona McCoole (Secretary) Bea Oates. Adrian Cathcart,Elma Rossiter, Philomena Murphy,Mary Jowett,Pauline Talbot,Arletta Wolak.

We are delighted to also have two transition year students from the CBS on our council this year -Jonathan Breen and Scott Mitchell.

Read more here….